[Day 30] New Year Blues

A conscious decision was made for me to postpone my Taiwan visit till later this year. I chose to stay in Sydney by myself for the first time in years during Chinese New Years. It is to me, like Christmas is to most Aussies – a celebration of what is the most solid and precious in life – family.

I guess I failed to recognise how the past few Chinese New Years have impacted my values and my priorities. I only just realised how much I really miss the way my parents always manage to find beautiful (relatively) healthy food that was made with love. I miss our perhaps unusual dinner conversations. I miss dad talking about whatever fascination he is into. I miss everyone’s laughs… I miss the positive energy that we embrace when we are all gathered in one place. Silent appreciation linger even when we’re in food coma.

No use getting overly sentimental… More effort into the future :)

Happy Year of the Horse! May we all have the courage to make mistakes that grow wisdom; have appreciation for those that bring joy to our hearts; and gain clarity in seeing our true selves so we can fulfil this precious life we only get to live once.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment